Committees

A list of all committees, their duties and the requirements for being appointed are available in the WVLA Handbook. If you are interested in serving on a particular committee, please contact the president.

2017 Committees 

Auditing

Chair, Chuck Julian, Potomac State College of WVU, charles.julian@mail.wvu.edu

Alex Eberle, Brooke County Public Libraries, alex.eberle@weirton.lib.wv.us

Judy Gunsaulis, Fayette County Public Library,gunsaulj@mail.mln.lib.wv.us

 

Constitution & Bylaws

Chair, Dottie Thomas, Ohio County Public Library, thomasd@weirton.lib.wv.us

Karen Goff, West Virginia Library Commission, Karen.E.Goff@wv.gov

Judy Rule, Cabell County Public Library, jrule@cabell.lib.wv.us

 

Continuing Education/Scholarship

Chair, John Adkins, University of Charleston, johnadkins@ucwv.edu 2018

Rhonda Donaldson, Shepherd University, rdonal01@shepherd.edu 2018

Paula Lestini, Wheeling Jesuit University, plestini@wju.edu, 2018

Jamie Bayne, Mountwest Community and Technical College, jlbayne@gmail.com 2018

Janice Bickham, West Virginia Library Commission, balchta@comcast.net 2017

Gretchen Beach, Marshall University, beachgr@marshall.edu 2017

Pamela Mann, Morgan County Public Library, pmann@wvlc.lib.wv.us 2017

Mary Horn, WV State University ,maryhorn@wvstateu.edu 2017

 

Elections

Chair, Monica Brooks, Marshall University, monica.brooks@marshall.edu

Heather Campbell-Stock, West Virginia Library Commission, heather.s.campbell@wv.gov

Mary Strife, West Virginia University, mary.strife@mail.wvu.edu

 

Finance

Chair, Brian Raitz, Parkersburg/WoodCounty Public Library, wvlibrarydude@gmail.com

Gretchen Beach, Marshall University, beachgr@marshall.edu

Brenna Call, Vienna Public Library, brenna.call@mail.mln.lib.wv.us

 

Handbook

Chair, Dottie Thomas, Ohio County Public Library, thomasd@weirton.lib.wv.us

Karen Goff, West Virginia Library Commission, Karen.E.Goff@wv.gov

Judy Rule, Cabell County Public Library, jrule@cabell.lib.wv.us

 

IntellectualFreedom

Chair, Kat Phillips, Bridge Valley Community College, phillipsk@marshall.edu 2017

Yvonne Farley, US Mine Safety & Health Admin, yfarley@hotmail.com 2019

Megan Tarbett, Putnam County Public Library, megan.tarbett@putnam.lib.wv.us 2020

Heather Lauer, Bridge Valley Community & Technical College, Heather.Lauer@bridgevalley.edu

        2019

Susan Hayden, West Virginia Library Commission, susan.g.hayden@wv.gov 2017

Jackie DiOrio, diorioj@marshall.edu 2020

Olivia Bravo, Retired, oliviawvla@gmail.com 2018

Alan Engelbert, Kanawha County Public Library, alan.engelbert@kanawhalibrary.org 2018

 

Legislative

Chair, Ann Farr, Greenbrier County Public Library, farrann@mail.mln.lib.wv.us 2019

Judy Rule, Cabell County Public Library, jrule@cabell.lib.wv.us 2017 (Legislative DayCoord)

Bonnie Dwire, Morgantown Public Library, dwireb@clark.lib.wv.us (FederalRelations Coordinator)

Susan Reilly, City-County Public Library, reillys@weirton.lib.wv.us 2017

Myra Ziegler, Retired, myraziegler@yahoo.com 2019

Sarah Palfrey, Summersville Public Library, palfrey.sarah@gmail.com 2017

Heather Lauer, BridgeValley Community & Technical College, Heather.Lauer@bridgevalley.edu 2020

Cate Weber, Vienna Public Library, cate@viennapubliclibrary.org 2020

Alan Engelbert, Kanawha County Public Library, alan.engelbert@kanawhalibrary.org 2018

Dottie Thomas, Ohio County Public Library, thomasd@weirton.lib.wv.us 2018

J.D.Waggoner,   jaydee855@hotmail.com 2018

Kelly Tanksley, Martinsburg Public Library, kelly.tanksley@mbcpl.org 2018

 

Marketing

Chair, Megan Tarbett, Putnam County Public Library, megan.tarbett@putnam.lib.wv.us

Jill Rafter, Clarksburg/Harrison Public Library, jill.rafter@clark.lib.wv.us

Zana Sueme, Marshall University, durstz@marshall.edu

 

Membership

Chair, Steven Shackelford, Parkersburg-Wood County Public Library, steven.shackelford@gmail.com

Olivia Bravo, Retired, oliviawvla@gmail.com

Patsy Stephenson, Marshall University, stephens@marshall.edu

 

Nominating

Chair, Beth Royall, West Virginia University, sroyall@wvu.edu

Emilee Seese, Ritchie County Public Library, seesee@mail.mln.lib.wv.us

 

Public Relations

Chair, Lori Thompson, Marshall University, thompson39@marshall.edu

Jamie Bayne, Mountwest Community and Technical College, jlbayne@gmail.com

Megan Tarbett, Putnam County Public Library, megan.tarbett@putnam.lib.wv.us

 

Resolutions & Awards

Chair, Jessica Tapia, West Virginia University, jessica.tapia@mail.wvu.edu

Jamie Bayne, Mountwest Community and Technical College, jlbayne@gmail.com

Emilee Seese, Ritchie County Public Library, seesee@mail.mln.lib.wv.us

 

Site Selection

Chair, Emilee Seese, Ritchie County Public Library, seesee@mail.mln.lib.wv.us

Brian Raitz, Parkersburg/Wood County Public Library, wvlibrarydude@gmail.com

Dottie Thomas, Ohio County Public Library, thomasd@weirton.lib.wv.us

 

Conference

Chair, Brenna Call, Vienna Public Library, brenna@viennapubliclibrary.org

Program Chair, Gretchen Beach, Marshall University, beachgr@marshall.edu

Registration, Jay Gummer (Morgantown) jay.gummer@clark.lib.wv.us

Food, Kaity Eaton (Vienna Public Library) kaity@viennapubliclibrary.org ; Julie Oldfield (Dora B. Woodyard Library) Julie.oldfield@mail.mln.lib.wv.us ; Ivonne Martinez (Mountaintop Public Library) ivonne.martinez@mail.mln.lib.wv.us

Vendors, Connie Frederick Williams (Ritchie CountyPublicLibrary) connie.frederick@mail.mln.lib.wv.us

Local Arrangements, Ann Farr (Greenbrier County Public Library) farrann@mail.mln.lib.wv.us

Technology, Kat Phillips (Marshall University) phillipsk@marshall.edu

SELA, Tim Dodge, dodgeti@auburn.edu

 

2016 Committees 

Audit Committee

Brooks, Melissa, chair
Mummert, Kelly
Gunsaulis, Judy

Conference Committee

Beach, Gretchen, chair
Seese, Emilee, program chair

Constitution & By-Laws/Handbook Committee

Thomas, Dottie, chair
Goff, Karen
Rule, Judy

Continuing Education/Scholarship Committee

Adkins, John, chair 2018
Bayne, Jamie 2018
Beach, Gretchen 2017
Bickham, Janice 2017
Donaldson, Rhonda 2018
Horn, Mary 2017
Lestini, Paula 2018
Mann, Pamela 2017

Elections

Brooks, Monica, chair
Frederick, Connie
Gilkerson, Addie

Finance Committee

Raitz, Brian, chair
Beach, Gretchen
Seese, Emilee

Handbook Committee

Thomas, Dottie, chair
Goff, Karen
Rule, Judy

Intellectual Freedom Committee

Phillips, Kathleen, chair 2017
Bravo, Olivia 2018
Engelbert, Alan 2018
Farley, Yvonne, chair 2016
Hayden, Susan 2017
Paul, Morgan 2017
Rugeley, Virginia 2016
Wilkes, Hannah 2016

Legislative Committee

Farr, Ann, chair 2016
Engelbert, Alan 2018
Etheridge, Stacy 2016
Levitan, Jane 2017 (Federal Relations Coordinator)
Palfrey, Sarah 2017
Pugh, Penny 2016
Reilly, Susan 2017
Rule, Judy 2017 (Legislative Day Coordinator)
Tanksley, Kelly 2018
Thomas, Dottie 2018
Waggoner, JD 2018
Ziegler, Myra 2016

Marketing Committee

Pratt, Mary Lou
Rafter, Jill
Tarbett, Megan

Membership Committee

Tarbett, Megan, chair
Bravo, Olivia database maintainer
Seese, Emilee

Nominating Committee

Yancey, Martha, chair
Lewis, Christine
Stover, Amy

Public Relations Committee

Gekosky, Sandra, chair
Bayne, Jamie
Tarbett, Megan

Resolutions & Awards Committee

Tapia, Jessica, chair
Bayne, Jamie
Royall, Beth

Site Selection Committee

McGuire, Eva (chair)
Gunsaulis, Judy
Raitz, Brian

2015 Committees -- Thank you for your service!

Audit Committee

Mummert, Kelly, chair
Brooks, Melissa
Gilkerson, Addie

Constitution & By-Laws/Handbook Committee

Thomas, Dottie, chair
Gunsaulis, Judy
Harshman, Cheryl

Continuing Education/Scholarship Committee

Beach, Gretchen, chair (2015-2017)
Adkins, John (2013-2015)
Allphin, Peter (2013-2015)
Donaldson, Rhonda (2013-2015)
Heddinger, Linda (2015-2017)
Horn, Mary (2015-2017)
Lestini, Paula (2013-2015)
Mann, Pamela (2015-2017)

Election Committee

Gilkerson, Addie
LaGodna, Barbara
Pyle, Delores
Shumate, Connie

Finance Committee

Raitz, Brian, chair
Lilly, Amy
Seese, Emilee

Intellectual Freedom Committee

Farley, Yvonne, chair (2013-2015)
Bravo, Olivia (2013-2015)
Engelbert, Alan (2013-2015)
Hayden, Susan (2015-2017)
Johnson, Allen (2013-2015)
Paul, Morgan (2015-2017)
Phillips, Kathleen (2015-2017)
Rugely, Virginia (2013-2015)
Wilkes, Hannah (2014-2016)

Legislative Committee

Reilly, Susan, chair (2015-2017)
Farr, Ann, co-chair (2013-2016)
Engelbert, Alan (2012-2015)
Etheridge, Stacy (2013-2016)
Levitan, Jane (2015-2017)
Palfrey, Sarah (2015-2017)
Pugh, Penny (2013-2016)
Rule, Judy (2011-2014)
Seabolt, Denise (2012-2015)
Thomas, Dottie (2012-2015)
Waggoner, JD (2012-2015)
Ziegler, Myra (2013-2016)

Marketing Committee

Matheny, Mary, chair 
Hamrick, Crystal
MaGuire, Susan
Martin, Suzie
Mummert, Kelly
Pratt, Mary Lou
Rafter, Jill

Membership Committee

Ivonne Martinez, chair
Emilee Seese
Olivia Bravo, database maintainer

Newsletter Taskforce

Coyle, Pam, chair
Mason, Lesley
Tapia, Jessica

Nominating Committee

Palfrey, Sarah, chair
Stover, Amy
Tarbett, Megan

Public Relations Committee

McGrew, Paula, chair
Bravo, Olivia
Gekosky, Sandra
Mehta, Dhaval
Rayme, Mary

Resolutions & Awards Committee

Tapia, Jessica, chair
Coyle, Pam
Royall, Beth

Site Selection Committee

McGuire, Eva (chair)
Gunsaulis, Judy
Raitz, Brian

 

2014 Committees -- Thank you for your service!

Audit Committee

Heddinger, Linda, chair
Brooks, Melissa
Mummert, Kelly

Constitution & By-Laws/Handbook Committee

Thomas, Dottie, chair
Gunsaulis, Judy
Harshman, Cheryl

Continuing Education/Scholarship Committee

Beach, Gretchen, chair (2012-2014)
Adkins, John (2013-2015)
Allphin, Peter (2013-2015)
Bickham, Janice (2012-2014)
Donaldson, Rhonda (2013-2015)
Ford, Pamela (2012-2014)
Gillilan, Julia (2012-2014)
Lestini, Paula (2013-2015)

Election Committee

LaGodna, Barbara
Pyle, Delores
Shumate, Connie

Finance Committee

Raitz, Brian, chair
Royall, Beth
Lilly, Amy

Intellectual Freedom Committee

Farley, Yvonne, chair (2013-2015)
Bravo, Olivia (2013-2015)
Engelbert, Alan (2013-2015)
Evey, Richard (2012-2014)
Johnson, Allen (2013-2015)
Levitan, Jane (2012-2014)
Tarbett, Megan (2012-2014)
Rugely, Virginia (2013-2015)
Wilkes, Hannah (2014-2016)

Legislative Committee

Farr, Ann, chair (2013-2016)
Engelbert, Alan (2012-2015)
Etheridge, Stacy (2013-2016)
Palfrey, Sarah (2011-2014)
Pugh, Penny (2013-2016)
Reilly, Susan (2011-2014)
Rule, Judy (2011-2014)
Seabolt, Denise (2012-2015)
Sutton, Connie (2011-2014)
Tackett, Elizabeth (2010-2013)
Thomas, Dottie (2012-2015)
Ziegler, Myra (2013-2016)

Marketing Committee

Matheny, Mary, chair 
Martin, Suzie

Membership Committee

Ivonne Martinez, chair
Amy Lilly
Olivia Bravo, database maintainer

Nominating Committee

Palfrey, Sarah, chair
Harshman, Cheryl
Ziegler, Myra

Public Relations Committee

McGrew, Paula, chair
Bravo, Olivia
Gekosky, Sandra

Resolutions & Awards Committee

Tapia, Jessica, chair
Coyle, Pam
Ziegler, Myra

Site Selection Committee

Yancey, Martha, chair
Raitz, Brian
Brooks, Monica

2013 Committees -- Thank you for your service!

Continuing Education – 8
Gretchen Beach, Chair 2012-2014
Mary Horn 2013- 2015
John Adkins 2013 - 2015
Janice L. Bickham 2012-2014
Julia Gillilan 2012-2014
John Paul Myrick 2013-2015
Sarah Dougherty 2013-2015
Linda Heddinger 2012-2014

Intellectual Freedom - 8
Olivia Bravo, Chair 2013 -2016
Alan Englebert 2013 -2016
Richard Evey 2011-2014
Yvonne Farley 2013-2016
Allen Johnson 2013-2016
Jan Levitan 2011-2014
Megan Tarbett 2011-2014
Virginia Rugely 2013-2016


Legislative Committee – 11 (needs 12)
Ann Farr, Chair 2013-2016
Susan Reilly, Vice Chair 2011-2014
Connie Sutton 2011-2014
Sarah Palfrey 2011-2014
Judy Rule 2011-2014
Penny Pugh 2013-2016
JD Waggoner 2013-2016
Elizabeth Tackett 2013-2016
Denise Seabolt 2012-2015
Alan Englebert 2012-2015
Dottie Thomas 2012-2015

Resolutions & Awards Committee

Tapia, Jessica, chair
Coyle, Pam
Myra, Ziegler


Auditing Committee
Denise Seabolt, Chair
Lind Heddinger
JD Waggoner

Constitution and Bylaws/Handbook Committee
Chuck Julian
Linda Blake
Thelma Hutchins
Karen Goff

Elections Committee – Nominating
Monica Brooks, Chair
Ann Farr
Alyson McKee

Election Committee – Ballots
Sharon Turner, Chair
Kelly Funkhouser
Mary Strife

Election Committee – Tellers
Georgina Doss, Chair
Margaret Smith

Finance Committee
Brian Raitz
Myra Ziegler
Beth Royall

Marketing Committee
Mary Mathany, Chair
Susan Maguire

Membership Committee
Amy Lilly, Chair
Rachel McGuire

Resolutions and Awards Committee

Angela Strait , Chair
Crystal Hamerick
Pam Coyle

Site Selection Committee
Brian Raitz, Chair
Barbara Lagodna
Judy Rule